Eisenhower State Office Building 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603



phone: 785-296-3585 fax: 785-296-0287 <u>www.ksdot.org</u>

Mike King, Secretary

Sam Brownback, Governor

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Nov. 5, 2014

News contact: Rebecca Pepper, (785) 296-8593 or Steve Swartz (785) 296-3585; cell (785) 221-5615; stevesw@ksdot.org

Cities to receive funding for Safe Routes to School projects

Fifteen projects intended to encourage children to walk or bicycle to school have been selected for funding through the Safe Routes to School program administered by the Kansas Department of Transportation

A total of \$1,335,000 will be allocated for projects including development of a Safe Routes to School plan and infrastructure construction.

The federal program, created in 2005, has several purposes:

- Enable and encourage children, including those who are disabled, to walk or bicycle to school;
- Make walking or biking to school safe and appealing;
- Facilitate projects that will improve safety and reduce traffic, fuel consumption and air pollution in the vicinity of schools.

The following cities have been selected for Phase I funding, which covers the costs of developing a Safe Routes to School plan: Cimarron, Dighton, Haven, Iola, Lawrence, Lewis, McPherson, Neosho Rapids, and Olpe. All cities will receive up to \$15,000.

Receiving Phase II funding for infrastructure improvements are Beloit, Ellsworth, Erie, Fort Scott, Hutchinson, and Kinsley. All cities will receive up to \$200,000. Phase II

projects can include sidewalk improvement or construction, pavement markings and signage.

###

This information can be made available in alternative accessible formats upon request. For information about obtaining an alternative format, contact the Bureau of Public Affairs, 700 SW Harrison St., 2nd Fl West, Topeka, KS 66603-3754 or phone 785-296-3585 (Voice)/Hearing Impaired – 711.

Click below to connect to KDOT's Social Networks:









