NEWS Safe Not Sorry Image
Public Information

KDOT Prefers Eastern Alternate for US-59

Dec. 12, 2000 (Release 00-190)
News Contact: Marty Matthews, (785) 296-3585

Kansas Transportation Secretary leads national organization

Kansas Secretary of Transportation E. Dean Carlson has been named President of the Board of Directors of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). Secretary Carlson assumed the duties Dec. 10 during the organization's annual meeting in Indianapolis, Ind. He had served as vice president of the organization for the previous year. Secretary Carlson attended his first AASHTO meeting in 1970 when he was with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). "During the years that I worked for FHWA, I developed a tremendous respect for AASHTO," said Secretary Carlson. "AASHTO continues to be the preeminent standard-setting organization when it comes to highway transportation matters. I am very honored to be taking the gavel as president of this great association." AASHTO's mission is to contribute to national policy on transportation issues and to be an advocate for multimodal and intermodal transportation by providing leadership, technical services, information and advice to state Departments of Transportation, the U.S. Department of Transportation and Congress.

This page last updated 12/13/00