Kansas Department of Transportation "...to provide a statewide transportation system to meet the needs of Kansas."
  NEWS   Safe Not Sorry Image
Public Information

Kansas Secretary of Transportation E. Dean Carlson to chair TRB Executive Committee

Feb. 5, 2002 (Release 02-010)

News Contact (for KDOT information) Marty Matthews, (785) 296-3585
News Contact (for TRB information) Suzanne Schneider (202) 334-3708

Kansas Secretary of Transportation E. Dean Carlson to chair TRB Executive Committee

E. Dean Carlson, Secretary, Kansas Department of Transportation, has been named Chairman of the Transportation Research Board’s (TRB’s) Executive Committee for 2002. He took office during the Chairman’s Luncheon on January 16 during the Board’s 81st Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to promote innovation and progress in transportation through research. The Annual Meeting is a major focal point of the Board's activities and provides an opportunity for transportation professionals from all over the world to exchange information of common interest.

The Board was organized in 1920 and is a division of the National Research Council (NRC), a private, nonprofit institution that serves as an independent adviser to the federal government on scientific and technical questions of national importance. The NRC is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine.

Carlson was appointed Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation in January 1995, following his retirement in 1994 as Executive Director of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)—the highest career position in that agency. His 36-year career with the Federal Highway Administration included service as Division Administrator for Minnesota; Deputy Regional Federal Highway Administrator for Region 4; Director, Office of Highway Safety; Director, Office of Engineering; Regional Federal Highway Administrator for Region 7; Associate Administrator for Engineering and Program Development; and Executive Director.

As FHWA’s Executive Director from 1990 to 1994, Carlson helped guide the effort to establish a strategic vision for reshaping the nation’s highway and highway safety programs. Under his leadership, FHWA conducted a strategic planning initiative, reassessing its mission in light of the completion of the Interstate Highway System and redefining its stewardship role with state and local partners. He was centrally involved in developing the U.S. Department of Transportation’s proposal for legislation to reauthorize federal highway programs in the period that preceded enactment of the landmark Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA). Carlson has been actively involved in TRB for many years. He served on the Group 2 Council on Design and Construction of Transportation Facilities, the National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) Project Committee on the Synthesis of Information Related to Highway Problems, and the NCHRP Project Panel on Research Program Design-Administration of Highway and Transportation Agencies. Carlson has been a member of TRB’s Executive Committee since 1993 and served as its Vice-Chairman in 2001. He has also seen service as an ex officio member of the Strategic Highway Research Program Executive Committee.

A Nebraska native, Carlson holds a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from the University of Nebraska and did graduate study at the University of Texas. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2001. Carlson’s numerous awards include the George S. Bartlett Award, presented by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA), and TRB; AASHTO’s Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award; the ARTBA Award; the Presidential Distinguished Executive Award; the Road Gang’s P.D. McLean Award; and the Presidential Rank of Meritorious Executive. He has just completed a year of service as President of AASHTO.  

This page last updated 03/29/01