Kansas Department of Transportation "...to provide a statewide transportation system to meet the needs of Kansas."
  NEWS   Safe Not Sorry Image
Public Information

Make it "Click" This Thanksgiving

November 12, 2003

For more information, contact:
Patrice O’Hara
KDOT Bureau of Traffic Safety: (785) 296-3756

Make it "Click" This Thanksgiving

As you travel this Thanksgiving holiday, make it a safe one by buckling up your family. Law enforcement agencies across the state will be out in force during this Thanksgiving holiday, enforcing occupant protection laws and impaired driving laws.

The Kansas Clicks mobilization is a stepped-up, coordinated enforcement effort during the Thanksgiving holiday from November 18 to December 1, 2003. The Kansas Highway Patrol and 81 local law enforcement agencies will enhance enforcement and public awareness efforts during the two-week time period.

“We know safety belts save lives,” said Deb Miller, Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT). “In 2002, 74 percent of the Kansans killed in vehicle crashes were not wearing their safety belts. To increase your chance of surviving a crash, seat belts are your best defense against serious injury or death in a crash.”

According to the 2003 KDOT Safety Belt survey, 64 percent of those surveyed, age 14 and older, use their seat belt. “The Kansas Clicks STEP program will work to increase those numbers by raising enforcement and education on safety belts throughout the state,” said Miller.

The Kansas Clicks Special Traffic Enforcement Program (STEP) mobilization, sponsored by KDOT, is a coordinated effort where the Kansas Highway Patrol and local law enforcement agencies target drivers who are not securing their children in safety seats or belts. Increased patrols to enhance enforcement and public awareness will be utilized during the two-week mobilization. In addition to those efforts the KDOT Safety Belt Education Office will continue to coordinate child passenger safety training and educate Kansans about safety belt issues in order to prevent fatalities and injuries on the roads.

Along with occupant protection enforcement, agencies can perform sobriety checkpoints and saturation patrols aimed at removing impaired drivers from Kansas roadways.

Enforcement mobilizations will be conducted across the state from November 18 to December 1 by the Kansas Highway Patrol and 81 participating local law enforcement agencies, including police departments, sheriff’s offices, and campus police departments.

Editor’s note: Attached is the list of the 81 local law enforcement agencies in the state who will be participating in the Kansas Clicks Special Traffic Enforcement Program (STEP) from November 18 to December 1 along with the Kansas Highway Patrol.

Allen County Sheriff's Department Lansing Police Department
AtchisonCounty Sheriff's Office Lawrence Police Department
BartonCounty Sheriff's Office Leavenworth Police Department
Bel Aire Police Department Lenexa Police Department
Belle Plaine Police Department Linn County Sheriff's Department
Cheney Police Department Maize Police Department
CherokeeCounty Sheriff's Office McPhersonCounty Sheriff's Office
Coffey County Sheriff's Office McPherson Police Department
Coffeyville Police Department Miami County Sheriff's Office
Conway Springs Police Department Morton County Sheriff's Department
CowleyCounty Sheriff's Office Nickerson Police Department
Derby Police Department Olathe Police Department
Dodge City Police Department Osage County Sheriff's Department
Douglas County Sheriff's Office Ottawa Police Department
El Dorado Police Department Overbrook Police Department
Ellsworth Police Department Overland Park Police Department
Emporia Police Department Prairie Band Pottawatomi Tribal Police Department
Enterprise Police Department Prairie Village Police Department
Erie Police Department Reno County Sheriff's Department
Franklin County Sheriff's Department Rice County Sheriff's Office
Frontenac Police Department Riley County Police Department
Garden City Police Department Roeland Park Police Department
Geary County Sheriff's Department Russell County Sheriff's Department
GreeleyCounty Sheriff's Office Russell Police Department
Hays Police Department Salina Police Department
Haysville Police Department Saline County Sheriff's Office
Herington Police Department Scranton Police Department
Hillsboro Police Department SedgwickCounty Sheriff's Department
HodgemanCounty Sheriff's Department ShawneeCounty Sheriff's Office
Hoisington Police Department Shawnee Police Department
Holcomb Police Department St. Mary's Police Department
Holton Police Department Topeka Police Department
Horton Police Department Towanda Police Department
Hutchinson Police Department Trego County Sheriff's Office
Jackson County Sheriff's Department Udall Police Department
Jewell County Sheriff's Office Washburn University Police Department
Johnson County Community College Department of Public Safety Waterville Police Department
JohnsonCounty Sheriff's Office Wathena Police Department
Kansas City Police Department Wellington Police Department
KansasState University Campus Police Wichita Police Department
Kickapoo Tribal Police Department Wilson County Sheriff's Office