Bureau of Structures and Geotechnical Services

Bridge Office Org. ChartAdobe Reader

Geotechnical Org. ChartAdobe Reader

Main Office

Calvin Reed 

Bureau Chief
(785) 296-3531
Email: Calvin Reed  

Mark Hurt

Assistant Bureau Chief
(785) 296-3531
Email: Mark Hurt

Bridge Design Squads


Senior Squad Leader
(785) 296-4417
Email: Vacant

Kelly Carlton

Squad Leader
(785) 296-6468
Email: Kelly Carlton

Shawn Schwensen

Senior Squad Leader
(785) 296-6449
Email: Shawn Schwensen

Jeff Ruby

Squad Leader
(785) 296-4428
Email: Jeff Ruby

Karen Peterson

Senior Signing and Lighting Engineer
(785) 296-5559
Email: Karen Peterson 

Eric Anderson

Signing and Lighting Engineer
(785) 368-7176
Email: Eric Anderson

Brad Rognlie

QC/QA Engineer
(785) 296-4398
Email: Brad Rognlie

Hydraulics Squad

Michael J. Orth

Hydraulics Engineer
(785) 296-0603
Email: Michael J. Orth

Bridge Management

John Culbertson

Bridge Management Engineer
(785) 296-5510
Email: John Culbertson

Debra Briant

Bridge Maintenance Engineer
(785) 296-2066
Email: Debra Briant

Dominique Shannon

Bridge Evaluation Engineer
(785) 296-3347
Email: Dominique Shannon

Bridge Inspection

Don Whisler

Bridge Preservation Engineer
(785) 296-4435
Home 267-5415
Email: Don Whisler

Jim Leaden

Bridge Inspection Engineer
(785) 296-5540
Home 478-1588
Email: Jim Leaden


Kyle Halverson

Chief Geologist 
(785) 291-3860
Email: Kyle Halverson


Luke Metheny

Chief Geotechnical Engineer
(785) 291-3857
Email: Luke Metheny



Contact The Bureau of Structures and Geotechnical Services

Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Structures and Geotechnical Services
Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Building
700 SW Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66603-3754
Phone: (785) 296-3531 - Fax: (785) 296-6946